‘P’ainted Love

Take my tears and that’s not nearly all!
Oh…’p’ainted love.
‘P’ainted Love …

I apologize if you end up humming Soft Cell’s 1981 hit, Tainted Love, for the rest of the day (hehehe).  I couldn’t resist — I totally have a love/hate relationship with painting…though, the thought of painting doesn’t make me nearly as mad as these guys look!

Is it just me, or do their eyes follow you wherever you go???

Okay, let’s get back to the issue at hand: PAINTING.

My husband, Michael, and I bought a whole whack o’ tintable paint on sale over a year ago (yes, you read that right).  However, due to a “series of unfortunate events”, there has been a serious lack of painting in our house.  And so, numerous cans of yet to be tinted paint lay in waiting for the day when they will be rescued from our dusty basement, be adorned with colour, and spread over our much neglected walls.

Can you say “plenty of poor, pathetic, pitiful paint cans placed plainly 3x fast???

Well, as part of my new initiative to revive both my house and self, I am officially pulling the switch — I will be blowing the dust of a few paint cans and painting both of my kids’ rooms by the end of May.  You heard it here first folks — 2 rooms in 1 month!!!

Naturally, my goal of finally getting around to painting Lily and Liam’s rooms sparked my interest in choosing paint colours that reflect their unique styles and personalities — this is the part of painting that I most enjoy (mainly because it involves more of the creative process and less of the physical, use-your-muscle-type process).

Oh…and who are Lily and Liam, you ask???  Well, Lily is my almost 11-year-old daughter and Liam is my 7-year-old son.

Liam and Lily: 2 peas in one crazy, adorable pod.

I still can’t believe that Lily will soon be entering the world of Lip Smackers and sneaking into PG-13 movies!  It’s an exciting time, and I look forward to getting to see Lily mature into a young woman over the years.  Though, if I was to be completely honest, I am totally freaked out by the whole situation!!!I would really like Lily’s new room to reflect the fact that she is making the dreaded, but fascinating, transition from kiddie-land to pre-teen wonderland.  In order to prepare for my daughter’s bedroom transformation, I have done a few things to help pin down her style and decide on what colours her room will feature.

For example, I have:

  • had numerous talks with Lily about what types of changes she has in mind for her room, and what her favourite colours are.
  • made Lily take a few online style personality quizzes.
  • taken note of Lily’s personality traits and interests.
  • considered the space and lighting of Lily’s room as well as the furniture and accessories we will be re-using.
  • spent some way too much time looking at the Benjamin Moore Colour Gallery for inspiration.

So, (drum roll please) here are my initial thoughts regarding Lily’s room.

Lily’s Room

Lily (in a nutshell): sweet, caring, sassy, funny, loves animals, interested in writing, reading, and drawing

Favourite Style: according to an easy Style Finder Quiz on REAL SIMPLE, Lily’s style personality is a tie between Cozy Casual and Sophisticated Classic

Favourite Colour: blue (she also likes green & red)

Room Theme Key Words: pretty, romantic, cozy, soft, old world, transitional

Room Features: odd-angled ceiling, lack of lighting, wainscoting, orange-hued laminate flooring, white furniture, black metal bed frame

Colour Choices:

Walls & Ceiling                  Wainscoting & Trim             Accent Colour                                                  BM French Canvas           BM White Dove                   BM Fiji

BM = Benjamin Moore

Lily and I decided that her north-east room (with very little light) may look too cold if we painted her walls blue.  Instead, I suggested going with white on white walls, wainscoting, trim, and ceiling and adding punches of colour, like Benjamin Moore’s Fiji on her nightstand, to add interest and personality.

What do y’all think??? Do any of you have suggestions for creating a cozy and warm feeling north-east facing room???

I will be back on Friday with more ideas and pictures regarding Lily’s room.

Lyrics found here. Images found here and here. Paint Colours found here.

LEAVE A COMMENT

