House Tour, Part 2 … Moving on Up ‘stairs’

Hey Party People!

Y’all ready to move on up to our second floor???

You are — well alright!  Let’s get this party started…

OUR UPSTAIRS

Floor Plan

As I mentioned in my previous post, I am just starting to learn the delicate art of using floorplanner.com.   Therefore, this floor plan of our upstairs is simply my best attempt to capture the odd design of our second floor.

To help you conceptualize this space better, our downstairs living room, hallway, and bathroom are below the master bedroom, walk in closet, and Liam’s bedroom.

Downstairs Floor Plan

**If you missed the house tour of our downstairs, feel free to check it out here.**

Pictures

Like the downstairs rooms, our upstairs is in need of some major updating and renewal.

See what I mean…

Our Upstairs Hallway

GOING UP!

VIEW FROM THE NORTH SIDE OF THE HOUSE, LOOKING TOWARDS THE MASTER BEDROOM.

VIEW FROM THE SOUTH SIDE OF THE HOUSE, LOOKING TOWARDS THE BATHROOM.

Choices, choices…

When you reach the top of our staircase, you have the often daunting decision of which way to go.  Even after six years, I sometimes still pick the wrong set of the stairs that lead me in the completely opposite direction I intended on going (oops!).

Our ever-increasing book collection.

As a self-proclaimed information junkie and bibliophile, books are extremely hard for me to let go of.  It also doesn’t help that I am the Chair of our local Library Board, and have first crack at the books put out for our Book Sales.  It’s an addiction, I’m sure.  Michael and I have decided to finally purge ourselves of some of our books though, and move the leftovers into either our bedroom or living room.  This will open up the odd little area in our hallway for a much-needed linen closet — hooray!

Our Master Bedroom

The containers shown above are filled with extra sheets, pillows, and blankets…do you see why we desperately need a proper linen closet?  Our room has acted as a catchall this last year.  I can’t wait to redo our room (really big exclamation point needed here), and have a place for Michael and I to hang out and drink a cup of tea in peace. 

Our Walk In Closet

This orange desk was my mother’s, but I remember my baby brother using it for years.  It is meant for left-handed folk, which I am not, but I don’t mind (it reminds me of my childhood :)).

Our makeshift built-in closet.

Leftover posters from our vintage-inspired wedding — I LOVE vintage beer, wine, and food posters!

I am happy to say that progress is being made upstairs.  We have been busy painting and redecorating Lily and Liam’s rooms over the last couple of months.  Some of you may recall that I challenged myself to paint both kids’ rooms in one month…to much success!  My next challenge is to refinish/repaint most of their furniture and get both of their rooms back in order.  My goal date is July 31st (I am putting this date out into the blogaverse to encourage me to get a move on!!!).

Here are some pics of the kids’ rooms after being partially revived

Liam’s Bedroom

Liam’s clothes are patiently awaiting for the arrival of their new home…a soon to be painted dresser.  Don’t worry boys, Mama’s working on it.  

You can read all about Liam’s bedroom transformation, and check out some before shots, in these posts:

Collection Chaos

It Ain’t Easy Bein’ Green

“Check” Me Out!!!

The “Hole” Shebang

Green With Envy

Deals + Discoveries + Decisions: Liam’s Bedroom

 

Lily’s Bedroom

Lily’s treasures waiting for a place to call home.

Lily’s IKEA Meldal day bed has been place up against the window wall.  We had thought to put it in the middle of her room (which I loved), but it wasn’t very practical for a pre-teen girl’s small bedroom.  The side and foot boards will be removed, to open up the space as well as providing Lily with no excuse for not making her bed properly (lol).

Feel free to take a gander at Lily’s bedroom plans, paint and prep adventures, and before pictures in these posts:

‘P’ainted Love

‘P’ainted Love: Part Deux

The Lone ‘Sand’er

Deals + Discoveries + Decisions

Mirror, Mirror, On the Wall

Mirror Image

 

Our Upstairs Bathroom

You had me at bathtub.

Having our laundry room upstairs rules!

Our old kitchen table is now used as a folding table.  This is my spot to just stare out the window and do a simple activity — very zen.

Michael made this mirror frame out of 2″ x 4″ studs.

Okay folks, there you have it…HOUSE TOUR complete.

But wait, where are the pictures of your yard?  Don’t worry, I will post those early next week.  For now, I’m off to bed for some much-needed sleep.  Nighty-night.

6 thoughts on “House Tour, Part 2 … Moving on Up ‘stairs’

  1. Hey Angela, nice blog! I like your last posts, of the house tour, so funny that I can still remember most of it since I’ve only been at your house once. Good luck on the whole revival, I’m curious to see the end result! Too bad I live to far away to be of any assistance… Say hello to Mike & the kids for me! Love, Stacy

    • Stacy…thanks for the blog love! I am also curious, as well as anxious, to see the end result. I have to remind myself everyday that reviving and fixing up a home takes time = I need to be patient. Big hugs from Canada!!! xo, Angela

    • I agree – our house has lots of potential. That’s why I love it 🙂 Even though there is A LOT of work that needs to be done on the house, I am happy to live in a house with character. Cheers. Angela

    • Our stairs are pretty crazy, I can’t wait to revive them. The kids’ rooms are coming along nicely…I am super excited to start hanging art and putting all the pieces together…wish me luck!

      Cheers.
      Angela

LEAVE A COMMENT

