Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes, Part 2

Hey everyone…thanks a million for being patient while I made a whole whack o’ changes to A GRAND REVIVAL over the last week or so.  It has been a lot of fun playing around with various themes, headers, backgrounds, widgets, formats, etc., and I am tickled pink with the results of my (somewhat obsessive) tweaking.

 Let’s take a quick look at what changes I have made…

 1. CHANGE OF THEME

If you’re a wordpress.com user, you know that there are a wide variety of free themes to choose from. Originally, I picked the “Bold Life” theme, as I found the grungy, antique-feeling paper texture, centered main title, and general esthetic appealing.  This theme also seemed befitting for the documentation of my 122 year-old home’s revival.  However, after a couple of months of blogging, I found I longed for some of the really cool features I had seen on other blogs.  So the search began for a blog that still interested me visually, but had more flexibility and features.

 Bold Life 

BYE BYE, BOLD LIFE

 A new blog that I follow using this theme is:

http://junkyardcandy.com/

 Below are some of the themes I considered.

Chateau 

LOVE THE “FRENCH” FEEL OF THIS THEME

 A couple of the blogs I follow that use this theme are: 

http://blissinimages.wordpress.com/

http://adetailedhouse.com/

 

 Forever

SUPER PRETTY THEME!

Lovely blogs that I using this theme are: 

http://thepaintedbranch.com/

http://hanaandgeorge.wordpress.com/

http://mytrinketsandtreasures.wordpress.com/

http://nookandsea.com/

 

 Ideation & Intent 

GREAT THEME FOR BLOGS WITH LOTS OF PICTURES

 Liquorice 

LOVE THE “VINTAGE” VIBE OF THIS THEME

But in the end, the winner was…

 Adventure Journal 

LOVE THE WOOD BACKGROUND AND “SCRAPBOOK” FEEL OF THIS THEME

 Overall, the “Adventure Journal” theme won me over with its scrapbook feel, layout options, and multiple widget areas.  It has been a blast tinkering with my new theme.  While I really like the theme’s original wood background, I decided on a background that better suited my personality — one with polka dots (which I can’t seem to get enough of).  My background, as well as some other tempting backgrounds (all free, I might add), can be found here.

There is still a little tweaking I need to do, to ensure that my previous posts are formated correctly .  I am also working on adding some incredible shabby-chic, vintage inspired images to A GRAND REVIVAL, to highlight my particular sense of style and humour.  My new favourite website is shabbyblogs.com !!!  The owner, Meg Hastings, offers all of the site’s designs, that can be used on your blog, for FREE….what???

 Take a minute to check out my site for some of Shabby Blogs’ super fantabulous images I have chosen.  Here’s one of them…

 

 

And here are some other “shabby buttons” you can add to your blog for FREE…

 

 

 

 

 

 

The owl is soooooo adorable…I may have to use him in a post in the near future…can’t let all that adorableness go to waste!

Shabby Blogs also offers amazing backgrounds, headers, post dividers, and many other goodies, for adding personality to your blog or website.  They even have buttons that blink, like so…

 

 

Fun stuff…thanks so much Meg!

 

2. UPDATED ABOUT SECTION

Another major change to my site is that my ABOUT section now contains three segments: ABOUT THIS BLOG, ABOUT ME, & ABOUT OUR HOUSE.

 

OUR 122 YEAR-OLD GOTHIC REVIVAL COTTAGE

 

3. UPDATED HOUSE TOUR

Last, but not least, I took the pictures in my HOUSE TOUR sections and — wait for it — turned them into a slide show. Fancy.  Super fancy, even.

Feel free to take another tour of our humble abode…

House Tours:

Moving On Up ‘stairs’

Boogie On Down ‘stairs’

 

 OH YEAH…

ONE LAST CHANGE

I have added a HOME button feature, conveniently located both at the top and bottom of the blog. Clicking this button will always return you to my Home Page that features my latest post.

Well, that’s all folks…the above pretty much sums up most of the changes I have made recently.  Again, I am really happy with the new look, feel, and functionality of A GRAND REVIVAL.  I hope you dig the new changes as much as I do.  Thanks again for your patience during this changeover period.  YOU GUYS ROCK!!!

Oh, and remember to…

 

Cheers.

12 thoughts on “Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes, Part 2

  1. Reblogged this on A GRAND REVIVAL and commented:
    Wow! After a few days of trying to figure out why some of my photos were not displaying properly, I finally resolved the issue — phew!!! Thanks again for your patience. I have decided to reblog this problematic post for your viewing pleasure (fingers crossed it works this time).
    Cheers.
    Revival Girl

    • Thanks! It’s a lot of fun trying out new themes etc., and I feel like my blog now represents a bit more of my unique personality…it has been frustrating reformatting everything though. Good luck making any changes to your blog. 🙂

LEAVE A COMMENT

