Reality Bites

If you’re like me, the reality of Monday morning stings a little.  After a weekend mixture of relaxation, quality family time, and catching up on house projects, I often go to bed on Sunday evening feeling energized and ready to take on the world the week ahead.  I fall asleep dreaming of how this will be the week I exercise more, make sure my kids eat lots of veggies, clean out the fridge, walk the dog at least twice a day, make important phone calls, organize my work files, make time for creative writing, weed the garden, finally get around to doing projects ABCDEFG…well, you get the picture.

STAYING ORGANIZED: EASIER SAID THAN DONE

Unfortunately, somewhere between the hours of 10 pm and 6 am, all this energy, excitement, and determination leaves my body.  I wake up Monday morning only somewhat bright-eyed and bushy-tailed, and soon become overwhelmed by all of the realities that face me: leftover laundry to put away, a child with an ear ache, dog puke on the floor, a car that won’t start, uncooperative weather, etc. — CAN I GO BACK TO BED NOW???  

The older I get, the easier I am with making room for the realities of life.  I won’t lie, I’m a dreamer and a planner who still finds it frustrating when things and events don’t go exactly as planned.  For example, here is a list of recent dreams and plans that were subjected to the bittersweet kisses of reality.

Dreams vs. Realities

Dream:

Wanted this post to be up yesterday (Monday, July 23rd).

Reality:

Spent over a couple of hours reworking my last post because many of the pictures were corrupted.  Plus, it was almost 40ºC (around 100ºF) with the humidex  =  too tired and frustrated to write another post until today.

 

Dream:

Now that Michael got a raise at work, we finally have enough money to buy everything I want and need to finish the kids’ bedroom revivals.

Reality:

Even with a little bit of extra money coming in, we still can’t afford to buy everything all at once = need to prioritize spending and be patient.

 

Dream:

Wanted to paint all of the kids’ furniture by now.

Reality:

Crazy heat wave and high humidity = couldn’t start painting furniture until a couple of days ago.

 

Dream:

Take pictures for Groovy Garden and Yard portion of the House Tour.

Reality:

Crazy heat wave and high humidity = our once green grass looks and feels like straw, and all plant life looks positively dreadful.  So, pictures will have to wait.

 

Dream:

Have most of the kids’ rooms done, and post pictures and details of their Revival Reveals, by July 31st.

Reality:

There is NO WAY both rooms will be done in a week from now.  I need to set a new, more realistic reveal date.  So, Friday, August 24th it is…well, maybe…we’ll see if reality strikes again!

 

It is important to remember that even though most dreams and plans do not turn out exactly the way we desire, we should never give up dreaming about, or planning for, the future.  What it does mean is this: we need to let go of our expectations of the future, and understand that reality has its own plan.

As Dwight D. Eisenhower famously said,

Plans are useless, but planning is indispensable.

I guess it really comes down to perspective…although sometimes your dreams and plans turn out differently then you had hoped, if you look hard enough, you can still find a silver lining.

To illustrate,

NO…I wasn’t able to paint all of the furniture I wanted to in the last couple of weeks, but I did get some of the pieces done (and they look amazing, I might add).  Here’s a quick peek for you…

DRESSER FOR LIAM’S ROOM GETTING A MUCH-NEEDED UPDATE

NO…I am not able to buy everything I want and need to finish Lily’s and Liam’s bedrooms right now, but I am making progress and bought some great stuff at a recent trip to IKEA.   Some teaser photos…

 

NO…I am not able to present the kids’ Revival Reveals in a week, but this just means I can spend the next month providing posts about the progress of the rooms and useful how-to guides on topics like painting furniture and hanging pictures, for example, and hopefully get my readers excited about the final reveals.

UPCOMING POST: HOW TO PAINT A DRESSER A DARK PAINT COLOUR

So you see, the realities of life don’t always have to sting.  By focusing on the process of life, rather than the outcome, we are more likely to adapt to the unexpected twists and turns…not to mention, enjoy the ride with ease and grace.

 

Day Planner image found at freedigitalphotos.net.

5 thoughts on “Reality Bites

    • Thanks Julia…I have been having some formatting problems lately. I will look to remedy the picture issue asap.
      Cheers.
      Angela
      ***Update, just changed photo format…are they showing properly now???

  1. Reblogged this on A GRAND REVIVAL and commented:
    For some odd reason my pictures are not loading properly for everyone…I figure it is reality playing tricks on me…hahaha…so, I thought I would try reblogging my post.
    I have changed some formatting…let me know if they are not working on your end, and I will see what I can do…thanks 🙂

  2. The “Reblogged” link I got wouldn’t load at all -error message- but when I follow your post from Facebook “Reality Strikes Again”, everything works fine except for the last picture. Sounds frustrating for you. Good luck!

    • Hey Julia,

      I have reworked the Ch-Ch-Ch-Ch-Changes, Part 2 post…I hope it worked. I have decided to forgo the last picture in this post (Reality Bites), as I don’t have the time to rework it yet again 😦 I canceled the “reblogged” link — that’s why it no longer works. Thanks for giving me status reports 🙂

      Angela xo

LEAVE A COMMENT

