The Home-Mood Connection

My last post, From Survival to Revival, or the One Where I Open Up, focuses on the struggles I have faced over the last couple of years as well as some of the ways I have managed to pull myself out of a mild-moderate depression.  After writing this post, I began thinking of how I truly believe that the features of your home (for example, cluttered?, organized?, well-lit?, full of plants?, etc.) can have an impact on mood.

So, I set out to find five fab online articles dealing with how adding certain decorating elements, such as colour, to your home can boost, or influence, mood.

Here’s what I found (click on pictures to gain access to the articles)…

ONE

THIS ARTICLE OFFERS INTERESTING TIDBITS OF ADVICE ON HOW CERTAIN DECORATING ELEMENTS, LIKE BIG WINDOWS AND SOFT CURVES IN FURNITURE, CAN PROMOTE A PERSON’S WELL-BEING.  IT ALSO MENTIONS WHY MINIMALIST DECOR MAY NOT BE THE BEST FOR PEOPLE WITH DEMENTIA OR ALZHEIMER’S. 

TWO

THIS BRIEF GUIDE LINKS PARTICULAR COLOURS TO CERTAIN MOODS.  FOR EXAMPLE, THE ARTICLE CLAIMS THAT USING GREEN AND YELLOW IN YOUR HOME MAY HELP YOU FEEL MORE UPBEAT.  

THREE

A USEFUL, BUT BRIEF, LOOK AT SPECIFIC COLOUS TO USE IN YOUR HOME TO BOOST MOOD.  I AM PARTICULARLY TAKEN WITH BENJAMIN MOORE’S WOODLAWN BLUE

FOUR

THIS ARTICLE FOCUSES ON HOW TO USE FENG SHUI TECHNIQUES TO FOSTER A HAPPY HOME. 

FIVE

THE AUTHOR PROVIDES FIVE PRACTICAL HOME DECOR TIPS ON HOW TO BOOST YOUR MOOD, AND CREATE A MORE PEACEFUL HOME ENVIRONMENT. 

Enjoy the articles and your weekend!

Revive ya later,

Revival Girl

2 thoughts on “The Home-Mood Connection

  1. I always had blue rooms . Then I did years of deep therapy, and moved into yellow rooms, and now, cream and white rooms.
    Looking back, I needed the blue rooms to sustain me and given me calm and serenity when I was so stressed and depressed.
    Hope you find your way through depression… many people experience it ( I work with people like that now) but few people have the courage to admit it as you have done…. warm wishes.

    • Hi Valerie,
      Thanks for your comments and warm wishes 🙂 I love blue…it is one of my favourite colours! Seeing blue always reminds me of sky and water…two elements that foster a sense of freedom and endless possibilities to me. Take care. Angela

LEAVE A COMMENT

